: Most medical doctors want to work in cities where they will make a lot of money. Yet in many rural areas there are not enough doctors. What are the reasons for this problem? How can it be solved?

Medical treatment is the basic need of all the people across the globe. There are various public and private healthcare facilities available for people to choose from. These days, most of the medics prefer to practice in the well developed places instead of underdeveloped. I feel that the doctors prefer to work in the urban areas instead of rural areas because of various reasons. The first and foremost reason is financial gains. More patients who are eligible to pay high fees and sound financial background reside in the cities. A majority of the medical professionals prefer to work in the urban areas where they have the opportunity to gain high monetary benefits. The second reason is that cities have better facilities in terms of infrastructure and roads. Many doctors can get shared, well furnished clinics in busy areas. Working late is also not an issue as the roads are regarded safer in cities as compared to the villages. Socialisation with peers and friends is also one of the reasons that doctors Lau more importance to cities. At the same time, International schools, gym and other facilities are easily available in densely populated areas and hence these are chosen by the medical practitioners. Last but not the least, Medical is a profession for some doctors and not a form of service. Doctors enter in this field to invest in education and advanced machinery to reap the long term benefits through their practice. In the view of all the above reasons, I suggest that it should be mandatory for all the medical aspirants to work in remote areas for at least three years and render their services for the poor and destitute. Besides this, they should pay monthly visits to the government hospitals once every month. The doctors who do not wish to follow the guidelines, should be levied more taxes. Only upon completion of these terms, they should be allowed to serve in the area of their choice. To conclude, I reckon that healthcare facilities can be made available to all in urban as well as rural areas through the government intervention, rules and regulations.