Students should pay full cost for their own study, because university education benefits individuals rather than society. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Whether university tuition should be paid by individuals themselves or with the help of the community reflects differing perspectives on education financing. While numerous assertions advocate for supporting students in their pursuit of further education for the benefit of society, I partially lean toward the former. There are myriad compelling reasons why students should bear the responsibility of paying for college with affordable fees. On an individual level, bachelor’s degree holders, especially the underprivileged, stand a better chance of securing higher-paid careers and improving their quality of life. On a societal level, a surge in the gross enrollment rate, prompted by free university policies, could lead to a more educated workforce, thereby fostering economic prosperity and societal advancement. Despite these benefits, I would contend that the provision of accessible higher education can do both the beneficiaries and society a disservice. The impact of more graduates on employment is questionable at best. The job market has become extremely competitive, even for those with college qualifications. Therefore, if everyone is entitled to university, it may no longer be feasible for them to find a career, let alone achieve the financial abundance often associated with obtaining a tertiary degree. Additionally, the enormous cost incurred to cover higher education tuition could strain government coffers, leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced welfare programs. In conclusion, while the potential benefits of university tuition may make it seem like a good idea, I believe that the government should not make it ubiquitous for everyone.