The restoration of an old building in major cities in the world cost numerous governments' expenditures. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

Someone who priorities to the practical value than potential value believes that the cost should be utilised for public resources that can use right away. Being aware of the conveniences of replacing the old building with the new roads or buildings, I strongly disagree with the argument in that a temporary and not fundamental way. In the essay, I shall explain why the budget to be spent on preserving and maintaining old buildings and monuments of cities should not be curtailed. On top of that, the structures had been mainly built by woods and stones, which are easily affected by weather conditions and time changes, they need regular repair. Admittedly, I partly agree the restoration cost is alarmingly high, it would bear a financial burden to the society. I would like to point out two reasonable reasons why those buildings have remained in good condition. Those old buildings have not only historical values which represent the culture and heritage of that area, but educational resources which are aimed for the future generations. From the perspective of the government, those are valuable assets to restore, if they are not preserving the building, it can be the loss of the national asset. If the old building preserved in good condition, it will bring various benefits to the cities since the site can be attractive places for travellers. Tourism will promote the national economy by creating new employment and revenues and the collected taxes can be used for setting up infrastructures as electrical grids, bridges, and highway connectivities. More specifically, if the location of the old monument is in a remote area, the local government will construct new roads or public transportations to connect to the central areas more directly and conveniently. Eventually, these developments will attract more travellers than in the past, and the advantages via constructions will return to the citizen. Having said that, those buildings that are beyond repair should definitely be demolished and new structures should be built in their area. Allowing them to stay in their dilapidated state poses a serious threat to life and property. In conclusion, old structures and monuments tell us about history and time-journey. Their maintenance and preservation shall enhance the reputation of the country and create employment opportunities and revenue. Even so, buildings that cannot be restored should be destroyed.