Task 2: Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that spoken communication may have an edge over its written counterpart. From my perspective, both spoken and written forms are important in equal measure, and therefore I completely disagree with the statement. Spoken language, on the one hand, facilitates our daily communication. Virtually all social activities that human beings engage in, such as making purchases, exchanging information or chatting with friends, entail people uttering words to one another, and it is not an overstatement to say lack of oral communication may render us unable to carry out some essential tasks in life. Additionally, when combined with body language, facial expressions, and eye contact, oral communication exhibits strong emotional messages. Whilst political figures make persuasive, well-articulated speeches as an effective tool of persuasion and manipulation, women make full use of their sweet, melodious voices to talk their beloved ones into buying things they want to. Written language, on the other hand, appears to be relegated and ignored. This is unfortunate because written communication has advantages that would make it a superior choice in some situations over oral communication. From a legal perspective, written language, in the form of legal documents, is instrumental in safeguarding the rights of the people. Most contracts are carefully drawn up in written form and require signatures, and therefore they are solid and hard to be breached. In contrast, so-called ‘agreements’ or ‘promises’ in oral forms, in most cases, are invalid. Moreover, written language is a very efficient representation of complex notions, emotional expressions, and philosophies. Great minds store their ideas in books and novels, and those books have been instrumental in spreading their ideas to a much wider range of audiences. We can see written language as a way of indirectly conversing with not only one, but hundreds, thousands, or even millions of people. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that both spoken and written communication is equally important in our society. Whereas spoken language enables us to do everyday tasks and effectively show our emotions, written language plays a pivotal role in legal matters and allows for great ideas to be spread to a lot of people.