It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

At a very young age, it can be beneficial for kids to know about what is good and bad for them. Some are of the viewpoint that comeuppance is the best kind to help children to learn such differences. I support this statement to a major extent for some valid reasons. My preference as well as kind of comeuppance is discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. Examining the reasons, the prime one is that children have a fresh mind. They cannot know about the difference between good and wrong. Therefore, whenever children do some wrong activity. It is the responsibility of their parents and teacher, to teach them about the good things, punish them and motivate them in the good direction. However, punishing is important because if we ignore these mistakes, they are continuously repeated. Thus, punishing them on the proper basis could stop them doing the wrong activity and teach them to avoid repeating. Moreover, comeuppance keeps kids on the good path and it will be beneficial for their bright future. To elaborate this, comeuppance should encourage students to stay away from wrongdoings. When these children grow up into adults, they always do the good activities and stay away from wrong things due to the lessons learned in childhood. Consequently, comeuppance helps the children to become good citizens of the country. However, the parents and teachers should not apply the physical comeuppance such as using a rod or slapping. For instance, in Asia, some parents use the rod to punish their children. It is not a proper style of punishing. However, this measure banned by the authority it leads to increasing the suicide rate in youngsters. Thus, the minor types of punishments parents should be allowed to do. The minor comeuppance such as cutting down the money for children when they spend this money on playing video games instead of learning and doing homework. Besides this, parents should punish them by cleaning the house. So, children can also learn the style to keep houses clean. All in all, it can be stated that comeuppance is an essential style to teach the children. However, I believe that parents should penalize their children in appropriate ways. They should not apply to physical comeuppance. But, apply such kind of discipline, from this, children can learn about life lessons.