The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

In the contemporary era, technology dominates the life of human beings. It has been interwoven in our routine life. The advancements in science are not only limited to organizations, rather it has great impacts on an individual too. Some people conjecture that with the emergence of digitization, the chances to interact physically is becoming seldom. In this essay, I intend to delve into the advantages and disadvantages of social media in the subsequent paragraph. There are several advantages of digital media, but the foremost is establishing a connection between friends and families from every corner of the world. In yesteryear, it was considered as conundrum to make a video call to your loved ones, but now a plethora of applications like Facebook, Whatsapp and Instagram has made it possible to see your close one's in a real time. Moreover, the other advantage is that, it promoted cultural diversity. Through social media networks, one can communicate with the people of another country that helps in understanding their culture and language. On the flip side, it has some disadvantages too. To commence with, one of the most common side effect of digital platform is, it makes the life of an individual miserable, since they are no more able to express their sentiments. For instance; a father cannot hug his son on the telephone, or a mother may not kiss her daughter through Whatsapp. It has some serious percussion on society as well, like a community is built when you help each other physically and morally. For illustration, if your neighbour is suffering from depression, he needs someone by his place to vent out all his issues. Thus, in order to recapitulate the discussion, it can be said that the digital medium has enormous benefits, since it has made communication easier, but one cannot overlook the other side of the picture as well.