Watching a live performance such as a play, concert or sporting event is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The pleasure derived from watching public events on television is often alleged to be inferior to being physically present on the site where they are taking place. I totally disagree with this notion for a number of reasons, which I will discuss here. Firstly, high ticket prices and entrance fees can make watching a live show unpleasant. In other words, when a person pays a large sum of money to be eligible to enjoy the performance his expectations about it tend to be higher than they would normally be. Therefore, if even a single aspect of the programme fails to fulfil these expectations, the spectator will likely be completely disappointed with the experience. Television, on the other hand, does not have this disadvantage, for it is free, meaning that no such increased requirements should be met. Secondly, numerous public shows, especially concerts and plays are usually conducted in huge halls with excellent acoustics and audience of hundreds of people, which brings about a disproportionate amount of noise. This can afflict observers' health, in particular elderly individuals who are probably already contending with an array of medical conditions, by, for example, causing severe headaches and aural disorders. Finally, distance in these places can be a major problem. That is to say, the costs for front seats tend to be prohibitive and are reserved quickly by the affluent, which makes it an extremely awkward challenge for ordinary people living on average incomes. Consequently, these individuals are obliged to sit in the middle, or what is worse in the far back of the hall, which makes the attending of the event sheer disappointment. It might be said, though, that live performances give people, emotions and feelings that are impossible to convey through television. However, it seems that it is just a common stereotype and should not necessarily reflect reality. Overall, it is my feeling that watching public shows on television is far better than attending them, because it poses no threat to our health; nor does it undermine our budget.