Some people believe that all children should have a pet or an animal to look after. Other people disagree, however, saying that this depends on a child’s circumstances. Discuss and give your own opinion.

Of all the factors contributing positively to children’s growth, it is widely recognised that pets can benefit the children who take care of them. From the point of view, some people insist that all parents should give their children the opportunity to keep a pet, whereas I personally believe that the issue is not entirely straightforward. On the flip side, people who support the ownership of pets cite the various benefits it brings to the child. In the first place, looking after animals can be so instrumental to the growth of the child’s emotion. To explain, the child feels more responsible in the process of caring for small and feeble creatures, take examples, feeding, walking them regularly, or taking them to the vet when their cats or dogs are sick, and by achieving these, the little pet owner can have a sense of accomplishment and more confidence. Especially, in the society in which more children are being raised as an only child, it is true to some extent that there are not many ways to teach children respect, tolerance and compromise. On the contrast, if kids are given the opportunities to learn the value of a beautiful mind to help someone else, and the value of the effort that they should make while doing these, they may grow into a person with a much richer sense of empathy than counterparts who have never kept a pet in their childhood. Nevertheless, I, as one of the opponents of the view, would like to point out that not all children live in the environment where keeping pets is recommended. One of the main reasons for which make many families feel reluctant to keep pets is directly related to/with the cost. As far as the cost of Regular vaccinations or money spent on the treatment of pet’s diseases is deeply concerned, and it can put a lot of financial burden on the family, which no one can guarantee all parents can handle. Another reason worth mentioning is simply that some children may not be interested in animal.If the children are indifferent to animals or even scared, they will never feel responsible or fulfilling while keeping their pets, but instead it can be painful. For these young children, to have a cat, a dog, or other kinds of pets must be an option, not an obligation. In conclusion, despite the positive effects pets can have on children, I do not think the idea can be applied to every youngster, because I believe there are many exceptions.