Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Most old buildings are protected due to the fact that they take part in the national history of a country. Others believe that they should be taken down in order to create new work areas and homes. This essay will present how important it is to maintain obsolete infrastructures as well as why the study of past times stands in the way of progress. It is important to keep establishments because they allow historians to work on the country’s background. Furthermore, these spaces present how the state was in the past, allowing historians to learn about a region’s culture and memories. For example, after WW2, Polish locals believed that the rest of Auschwitz should be destroyed because it took up too much space. On the contrary, the fact that the remains of this concentration camp were kept acts as a memorial tribute to the killed Jews. So, keeping spaces like these allows the nation to do a proper memorial job. History should stand in the way of advances because thanks to the first discipline, scientists have the possibility to be more performant in their research. Moreover, a culture allows researchers to have more inspiration. For instance, in 2023, Oxford University conducted a study to explain the link between past times and progress. The results showed that in France, a country mostly constituted of “old infrastructures”, the scientific advances are 75% more performant than in nations such as Argentina which destroyed most of their own. To conclude, historical buildings are necessary for a nation to study its culture and collective memories. In addition, history should take the lead on sciences since it inspires researchers towards progress.