Some people believe the purpose of prison is to punish, while other would argue that rehabilitation is its primary role. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by many people that the prison should only be used to punish criminals, while it is thought by others that it should act as a place for rehabilitation. As far as I am concerned, everyone should be given a chance, but there is a saying that 'everything comes with a price'. There are various reasons because of which some people are of the view that jail is meant for punishing the criminals. Firstly, for example, sometimes the crime is so big that the prisoner is charged for life sentences. Therefore, it is necessary to make them realize the crime they did. Moreover, It will also set an example for the public, otherwise people might take it for granted. Finally, the fear of getting prisoned should be such that people will not even think of doing it once and getting rid of it easily. Overall, prison should be cruel in all aspects of day to day activities. However, other people are of the opinion that there is no doubt that people should be punished for the bad deeds they did and should take place within the prison environment. In particular, it should be taken care of that the environment inside the jail be least good enough for human beings to live in and there must be a vibe among the jailers to start a new life and perform some good deeds when they have completed their presentment. On top of that, sometimes criminals are in so much of self guilt that they want to do some good for society by doing some volunteer work. Although I believe that it is necessary to make them realise whatever wrong, they did, there should always be a way to do some good work, so that they are able to forgive themselves.