Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Running a healthy balanced workplace is a major key to gaining success in a business. The more professional and experienced a manager is, the more functional his organization will be. In order to lead a business more efficiently, some managers tend to be in contact with their employees all the time, in any situation, and even on holidays. This attitude could run into several benefits and drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss the positive and negative aspects of this behaviour and elaborate on my point of view. Being in contact with the personnel in their spare time could result in noticeable advantages, both for the companies and their workers. One of the most significant outcomes of this managerial system is that urgent work is always being sorted out as fast as possible, and nothing needs to be postponed to another time. For instance, health organizations like hospitals require their doctors to always be on call, when they are not in a shift, for emergency incidents. Apart from that, the staff could also benefit from this strategy. Some heads of organizations offer good bonuses to their employees, who are willing to cooperate with them during non-working hours. As an example, in the case of hospitals, doctors receive extra wages for being on call. On the other hand, bosses contacting their staff during their free time may lead to some undesirable results. The most unfavourable outcome is that the employees can not be able to keep their work-life balance, which could result in other unwanted personal issues. For example, if a manager calls his secretary when he is on holiday with his family, trying to take a break from the tension at work, it may cause displeasure for his family and himself. On top of that, this system could cause controversy among some employees, and distress them. To exemplify, if an employee decides to draw a line, and not answer the calls from his boss, he may be a nervous wreck that he might eventually get fired for behaving like this. To sum up, as some employers require their personnel to be available all the time, even during non-working hours, some positive and negative effects are evident. From my point of view, the demerits such as unstable private life for the staff, and a stressful job, outweigh the merits like work being sorted out, and economic benefits for the staff. I suggest that managers respect their staff ’s privacy to develop a peaceful workplace.