Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In order to prepare students to be more successful in adult life, some prefer to teach them to be more competitive but others think that cooperation is a better. Although both have their own advantages, I believe that learning how to be a strong team player is a better option. On the one hand, it is important to prepare children to be highly competitive as early as possible because the level of competition in the working adult life is getting very high, Being educated to have a strong desire to win will motivate the students to be independent and ambitious, and some research suggests that these are the common traits of a high achiever. As a result, they would have accumulated many trophies and achievements, and these accolades will build their confidence which will be very useful for them once they are entering the workforce. For example, they might have awarded with scholarship or won some competitions which will strengthen their CV and help them to be outstanding among the other candidates. On the other hand, being a strong team player is even more important in order for people to solve greater issues. The problems that people are facing while working in the modern era are getting more complex, such that it is impossible to be solved without having a group of people who have strong teamwork. Nowadays, it is quite rare to find an individual who can work alone without being cooperative with others. Furthermore, I strongly believe that a group of highly synergist people will be able to win the larger battle than any competitive person. For example, the recent pandemic issue requires the cooperation of various organisations, groups, and governments which is a problem that no individual can solve. In conclusion, even though there are some advantages of training children to be competitive, I think it is better to teach them on how to be co-operative instead.