In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

High school graduates usually have many optional choices for their life after graduation. One of these options is to get some time working or travelling before enrolment into a university. In fact, this has both some pros and cons that I will discuss it below in this essay. Regarding the advantages of having one period off of studying for travelling abroad or working is, it gives you great experience like someone would like to go into nursing institute, however, she or he volunteered to work in a hospital setting to be more familiar with the nursing lifestyle and be familiar with their responsibilities. Moreover, one term working means having money earnings that support you pay your student tuition fees, for instance, going to medical faculty is expensive and some graduates prefer to serve in the army for a couple of years in order to be able pay the cost of the medical institute. So it is reasonable to experience such decision of engagement with a workplace that will help you get more maturity for your future education. On the other hand, some argue that having one year abroad for leisure or working is just a waste of time. Some people recommend that you need to focus on your education rather than work which can come easily after university graduation. For example, finding a work in the field of information technology before even studying computer science is just a waste of time and it is hardly to find such position, so it is possible to finish a bachelor degree in CS within just 3 years and a half. In addition to that, some university might refuse your application if they see such a gap in the course of your CV. In Summary, it is a good idea to experience something new away from the classical educational pathway that will improve both your skills and financial situation. Knowing that it has some drawbacks that need to be considered before deciding.