Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people believe that environmental improvements can just be done by governments and large companies and the individuals cannot do anything to make the difference to this issue. However, I do not agree with this statement because the responsibility for improving the environment has to be for individuals as well. Firstly, people are responsible for the bins that they make and should recycle to help the environment. Every day, thousands of litter are made by individuals and it is heavily important to recycle it if not the pollution will increase dramatically in the cities. For example, the recycling companies will have more jobs to do, trying to separate the bins and will need more space for it, causing devastation to nature and more pollution. Recycling is a huge help to tackle the issue and improving the help for the environment. Secondly, another improvement that an individual can do to help the environment is to not buy plastic products. Some supermarkets are doing a plastic-free environment, and they are trying to reduce the number of products made or wrapped in plastic. Moreover, this initiative helps the environment. For instance, people have the choice of buying products, plastic-free, so they should do it. Furthermore, not using plastic bags is another help that individuals can do, buying environmentally-friendly bags. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement and I do believe that people have a huge importance in saving the environment and make the difference more than governments and large companies. Buying plastic-free products, using recycled bags, and recycling their bins can make the difference that we are waiting to save the planet.