Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras) In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is irrefutable that technology has become more powerful in the last few years as it is possible now to track or monitor individuals anytime or anywhere in the world. I, personally, believe that this development has advantages as well as disadvantages and will be discussed in the essay. To begin with the disadvantages, these days, everyone has a smartphone, which is capable of connecting the world with the help of the internet. Despite this, only a few people are aware that these devices are working all the time in the background to monitor each activity. As a result, there is no privacy for individuals at all. It does not matter whom we talk to, whether a family member, friend, colleague, or a person with whom we are in a relationship. These intimate conversations should be private between individuals as it is their birthright. On the other hand, it has numerous advantages too. It is believed that the monitoring system is very effective for some organizations. For example, the bank is one of the major sectors which plays a vital role in the country's economy. Besides, every individual feels safe to deposit or invest money in the bank as this sector is the best place to install security cameras or monitor staff's cell phones to preserve the bank's reputation and gain customers' trust. Also, installing cameras on the roads and monitoring cell phones could decrease the crime rate in a country. For instance, according to a survey revealed in the Indian Newspaper, the USA crime rate has decreased sharply since the government has installed the cameras on the streets. To conclude, technology is very powerful these days as it can track every activity on the mobiles or cameras. Nevertheless, this development has more advantages rather than disadvantages as long as it is only being used for security reasons.