Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages

In recent times, there has been an increase in the use of tech to observe the activities of people. Oftentimes, the individuals under surveillance have no knowledge of this. In my view, I agree that there are various benefits of this, as well as some drawbacks to be identified, and this essay will discuss both views here of. Admittedly, one minor demerit of using technology to monitor the activities of people unaware is the lack of privacy. Every human being on earth has the right to their private lives not being interfered. However, with the use of technological tools to source for certain data from suspected individuals, they are liable to crucial private knowledge being exposed even when they are found innocent of whatever action they were accused to be under observation for. An example of this, is Micheal Foden a United States CIA agent, who exposed the American agency of hacking into the mobile devices of over 10 million people that had no clue they were being under surveillance for doing nothing wrong. In addition to this, another less significant issue with monitoring people without prior notice, is that people begin to trust less in others for the fear of not being exposed. This could result to the decrease in social engagement and activities in a country that practices this act. Nevertheless, I maintain that automation should be used as a tool to acquire undisclosed intelligence from people without their consent. Firstly, a major merit is that it helps reduce crime activities and improves economic safety. Following the increase in global terrorism, technological advancement has made it easier to identify potential threats and individuals who engage in fraudulent activities and various vices. Similarly, the identification and tracing of harmful individuals and monitoring of their activities with artificial intelligence tools, has helped reduce the impact of terrorism and crimes worldwide. For example, the death of Osama Bin Ladin, one of the most wanted person on earth was killed with the successful application of machinery to oversee his activities and movements. The result of this lead to the collapse of the terrorist group named ISIS. In addition to this, access to undisclosed info is another significant reward that should be noted. Keeping note of people's actions and activities in incognito will reveal tons of tip that can aid security agency to have enough evidence of offences committed by such people. In conclusion, I maintain that the use of tech and its components to monitor the activities of people is more beneficial than any demerit it has. This essay has discussed both views extensively above.