More people today are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

These days, we are living in a world where health problem is a heated topic and commonly discussed. There is no doubt that the number of obese people is recently increasing. In this essay, I will outline some of the key reasons and suggest optimal actions to help tackle this trend. Leading to overweight is caused for several reasons. One of the first problems is that people have a poor diet. This is due to the proliferation of unhealthy food nowadays, which enables them to become more accessible. For example, in many different Vietnamese supermarkets, fast food categories from worldwide countries with levels of price are displayed on the shelves. Moreover, people are gaining excessive weight because of their sedentary lifestyles. They do not have habits of exercising, especially in the modern world with a hectic schedule of work and study. It is clear that there is a connection between what people know about health and their behaviours. So an appropriate action would be focusing on health education, such as launching campaigns to raise social awareness. My brother perfectly exemplifies for this situation. After learning a lesson about the necessity of a healthy body, his mindset was changed. As a result, he tends to abstain from junk foods, eat more healthily and exercise regularly. Another viable option is by introducing special tariffs for unhealthy food or banning advertisements for these foods. If governments implement this plan, it might help reduce the amount of consumed fast food and slow down the rate of obesity. Furthermore, the government also should invest more money to build up the public fitness centres for their citizen. To conclude, obesity rising to alarming levels and is considered a global epidemic, and measures need to be taken to reduce this complex problem described above.