Governments give lots of support to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been spent better elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many artists are well supported by their governments, but some feel that this is a misuse of taxpayers’ money. Although many arts venues would have to cease operating without such funding, I feel that public healthcare is in more urgent need of the money. On the one hand, without some help from their government, many arts institutions may have to close. It is difficult for theatres and other such places to generate profit, so it is important that governments assist these institutions so that they can continue to provide entertainment to the public. For example, there are many open-air concerts in the summer months in the UK which would not exist without the financial backing of local councils. However, I would argue that if these places were popular enough, they would be able to generate their own income. On the other hand, public hospitals all over the world are under financial strain. It would seem obvious that people’s health is of more importance than people’s entertainment, so this money should be given to hospitals to upgrade equipment and shorten waiting lists. For instance, Downshire Hospital in Ireland has blamed a lack of public funding for its shortage of nurses and available beds. Therefore, I feel that the money given to artists should be redirected to the healthcare system. In conclusion, although there would be fewer venues dedicated to presenting the work of artists, I maintain that government funds should be put into hospitals because people’s health is a more worthy cause.