In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this a positive or negative situation ?

Selecting a place to live in is a big decision to make. In some parts of the world, people value for their own accommodation because it is a sense of achievement rather than renting which could not save money in the long run. From my perspective, house ownership is a natural human desire. First and foremost, many individuals seek to own their personal house where they could live with peace of mind. Although they may struggle to acquire it, but many people tend to purchase homes as per their need. For instance, in many western countries, people mortgage and take loans from the banks to purchase property. Whereas, living as a tenant, not only one must have to abide the rules and regulations set by the landlords, but also individual can not renovate or repair according to his need. Thus, it is imperative to have a home where one can live peacefully. Nonetheless, I believe that having a home has many positive aspects such as it gives freedom in doing many things. Persons will not get bound to anyone's rules and regulations and owners have the opportunity to renovate frequently. Taking myself as an example, when I was living in the suburbs of Auburn, Sydney, I cannot even move a refrigerator from kitchen to other place, so having personal accommodation is necessary to thrive in a society. Furthermore, the sense of satisfaction can be felt in our own building which could be missing in renting apartment so, this will make the owner feel more relaxed. Hence, owning a home gives satisfaction. To sum up, a place to live is truly depend on the dwellers either if they live as a tenant or having his own flat. However, renting a home could not save finances while ownership can save money.