Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

It is true that people's activities cause significant damage to the environment, so everyone must do something to improve their habitat. This essay will discuss the environmental problems and several methods that governments and individuals should use to solve these problems. There is no doubt that air pollution and ocean pollution are the biggest threats. In terms of air pollution, the major proportions of exhaust air are NO, NO2 and CO2 that come from factories and vehicles. In addition, another type of pollution from factories is polluted water that leads to a higher percentage of heavy metals and other kinds of toxic substances in marine organisms than the standard. Marine life is also harmed by human waste. For instance, turtles often mistake plastic bags as jellyfish, and swallow them, then die. The Government should set some laws to protect the environment and reduce pollution. According to the laws, the factory's equipment will be upgraded so that those exhaust gases or liquid will be conducted secondary to reduce or even eliminate harmful substances. Accordingly, the government can pass legislation to limit the use of private vehicles, such as restrict vehicles with 0 and 9 of the last numbers on the license plate to travel on Monday. Individuals can change their lifestyles to improve the situation of the environment. The easiest way for everyone to reduce the air pollutions is that people should choose public transportation like buses, subways rather than private cars. Another lifestyle change is that people should try to use green and recyclable packaging instead of plastic bags. For example, customers can take the traditional bamboo basket when they go to the supermarket. In summary, people must be responsible for environmental deterioration. Both the government and individuals should do their best to solve the problem.