In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that there is a trend that human average life expectancy has gradually increased in recent years. Although this leads to a variety of problems for both individuals and society, the impact can be mitigated even eliminated in different ways. In terms of effects, tax decrease and increasing burden are the biggest two problems accompanied by population aging. Firstly, the significant growth of aging people who have retired requires much more budget from the government for hospitals, nursing care and considerably more pension. Also, youngsters have to spend substantial time and money on taking care of the elderly. Finally, the proportion of working adults will drop due to the expansion of the elderly. This change will give a negative result to the taxes. Regarding solutions, there are several ways that can solve these problems. Firstly, the government should encourage young people to give birth by extending maternity leave and raising the number of subsidies. So, the proportion of different age groups will keep a balance that will delay or even reverse the trend of population aging. Next, it is a good way to increase the retirement age, such as from 60 to 65. So, people aged between 60 and 65 can contribute more to society and reduce pressure on individuals and the government. Furthermore, attracting immigrants from other countries can also change the percentage of the ageing population. For instance, New Zealand uses an immigration system that gives people 20 and 39 years old the highest score to attract young immigrants. In conclusion, an ageing population brings about different types of issues, but they can be resolved through a wide range of methods.