culture is similar around the world. What is the reason? Is it a positive trend or a negative trend?

Globalisation has its effects around the world, with the increase in interaction between countries, tourism and the rising access to the internet, has led to an awareness of global practices. This has provided more freedom to people while making choices and to the integration of cultures. There are some positive and negative effects of these practices. With the rising access to media and entertainment, individuals have become inclined to following practices they fancy. Which has led to the integration of cultural behaviours, in some cases, leaving traditions and values. Moreover, the loss of values could lead to more crime and also impact social behaviours. For example, the exposure to international media and celebrity lifestyles has caused younger children to dress up like mature individuals and follow latest trends which makes them ignorant of their traditions. In addition, it is seen that the need to follow these practices and peer pressure has led to depression and other mental health issues amongst the younger generation. This demonstrates a negative trend. On the contrary, the rise of tourism and the media has also increased the awareness of various festivities around the globe which has led to the disappearance of cultural boundaries, this has encouraged people to accept varied traditions. The positive influence of the same symbolises a more secular world. For instance, the celebration of Diwali, Christmas, Halloween and Eid has become common world-wide, where people from various sectors come together on these occasions. To conclude, the disappearance of cultural boundaries is a positive trend, however, it is important to control the extent of its impact, in order to retain traditions and values. Furthermore, media can be a source to retain traditions by providing more knowledge on the importance of various practices.