Recent advances in medical science have resulted in increased life expectancy over the past few years. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Breakthroughs in medical science have made lifespan longer these years. This phenomenon has obvious benefits and I firmly believe that they outweigh the drawbacks. In this essay, I plan to highlight a few of my thoughts with supportive examples. Firstly, the modern medical system is able to provide high-level services and operations that can save and support our lives. As a result, elderly people can stay longer with their relatives and have an opportunity to see their grandchildren and participate in their nurturing. For example, last year a heart surgery gave a chance to my grandmother to live further and she is still quite an active person. There are also a huge number of cases when such operations as transplantations gifted a second life to numerous individuals with various physical ailments. Secondly, in this era along with scientific development the number of chemical food additives and ingredients is also increasing. Without a doubt, this causes a growth in statistics of related diseases. And again, learned professions come to help us to tackle these illnesses. Unfortunately, we still have terrible diseases that have not won yet. For instance, cancer is a scourge of people that claims millions of lives. Nevertheless, today medicine can help to treat and alleviate the painful consequences of this illness. In conclusion, taking into consideration all the abovementioned benefits I would like to end up with the conclusion that we should be thankful for achievements in this sphere. The more developed our science is, the healthier and long-living our society.