Some people spend a lot of money for their wedding ceremonies. However, others feel like it is unnecessary to spend a lot. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Weddings and the celebrations associated with them are fond remembrances for almost everyone. A faction of the society believes and continues to spend an exorbitant amount of such occasions. At the same time, there is another set of people who are against squandering money on lavish functions. Through this essay, I will explain the two sides of the same coin, and share why I regard that money should be spent as a right balance and not squabbled. The cogent reason why people have a huge wedding is its significance. A massive life-event such as the culmination of marriage is a turning point in anyone's life. So much so, that people want to share their happiness and joy, celebrating with their kith and kin. With the advent of wedding planners, elaborate planning goes into ensuring that the event is in an exotic location. Furthermore, efforts are made to make everlasting memories not only for the wedding couple, but also arrange expensive gifts for the guests invited to the wedding. For example, the recent wedding of the pop singer Nick Jonas was a 3-day long affair at a palace in India. News articles reported that the expense of the ceremonies was over one million dollars. Contrastingly, many young people who have turned to Minimalism see all this spending as a waste of fund. The wedding is an equally important rung of their life ladder. However, they are cognizant of the fact that it is not wealth alone that makes happy memories. There is an increasing trend of people going to off-location weddings, inviting only the closest of their loved ones. For example, an article in the May 2020 Traveller magazine, has an exclusive section on wedding locations that are budget-friendly, at the same time, beautiful locales. Post which there has been a bump in travel bookings for the recommended places. The monies thus saved for a frugal wedding can later be utilized by the couple for their future, namely buying a house etc. To sum it up, getting married is a huge decision and planning a wedding is an even bigger one. While both sides have their unique merits, the couple should jointly pick one, as this will have a remarkable impact on their life. I firmly reckon that choosing a simple marriage will leave them with more cash to make even more memories.