Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers. What is the cause of this? What are some possible solutions?

The usage of modern gadgets has increased significantly over the last few decades. The aged population across both the developing and developed world has been facing challenges while using these technological devices. This essay will discuss why it is happening and put forward several solutions to tackle this issue. There is ample evidence that the older generation struggles to operate modern electronic devices. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, they are reluctant to go out of their comfort zone in the later years of life. Secondly, they develop a phobia about using electronic device and computers. For example, recent empirical research by Oxford University demonstrated that 8 out of the 10 people in their eighties in the U.K. Prefer to use simple feature phones instead of smartphones. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the majority of the aging population struggles with modern technological gadgets due to their hindrance and hesitation. Although the percentage of old people feared using mobiles and computers is large, young technical people should come forward and make them comfortable with the usage of modern electronic devices. It must not be forgotten that with the proper guidance and support from the techies, old people could be brought out of their comfort zone and take advantage of modern technologies such as modern phones and personal computers. To take an example, an extensive study by the Delhi Government showed that 90% of the elderly people were made accustomed to using advanced phones within 15 days of their training with the young volunteers. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the elderly can overcome the fear of using modern gadgets by the assistance from a young technical population. In conclusion, old people have nowadays felt uncomfortable while using modern electronic devices. This essay discussed that the mental barrier and reluctance from their side are the main causes of uneasiness. This essay also discussed that the younger generation of techies can help them to overcome this resistance.