Computer games have a negative impact on children and their families. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Parenting has never been an easy job and the implementation of new technologies did not make it easier. Many people believe that children and families are negatively impacted by video games.In this essay, I will discuss how computer games could affect the behaviour of both kids and parents. Firstly, it is a common opinion that young ones spend too much time in front of screens such as computers, PlayStation and smartphones. A recent research conducted by Dr. Smith, revealed that spending more than 3 hours per day on display can develop an addiction comparable to drugs. As a result of this dependency one of the side effects on the youngest, could be irritable behaviour. As a consequence of young gamers’ attitude, there is an impact on their families’ wellbeing. It is a fact that in the last 10 years, parents are facing more issues raising their children, for example, a lack of respect towards adults due to violent games such as war or shooter games. To confirm the statement above there is a study supervised by Oxford University that states that a reasonable piece of the population is challenging similar situations. A more specific data is that 1 out of 3 families who are followed by a therapist are dealing with video game obsession with their kids. In conclusion, despite there could be some exceptions, violent games such as the world-famous GTA have been proven by many studies to have a negative influence not only on the youngest generation but on their families as well