Tourism has become one of the fastest-growing industries in the world. Million people today are travelling farther and farther throughout the year. Some people argue that the development of tourism has had negative effects on local communities, others think that its influences are positive. Write an essay to discuss the effects of tourism on local communities. Including reasons and relevant examples to support your answer.

Tourism is one of the most important components of the global economy. Some people believe that tourism brings enormous benefits, while others claim that it exerts negative impacts on societies. This essay will discuss how tourism development affects local communities. On the one hand, the development of the tourism industry brings potential advantages to localities. Firstly, tourism generates considerable economic benefits. When visitors pay a visit to a place of interest, they have to purchase tickets or fees to enter the entrances and enjoy the services. This money could make up for a significant proportion of the local economy. Secondly, promoting international tourism can raise the profile of communities in the world. This is because it grants the locality a chance to show off itself by sharing the local customs and traditions with people around the world. As a result, the fame of the place and the locals can spread quickly. On the other hand, the promotion of tourism can be the root of several problems. One of them is that tourism has been a major cause of environmental pollution. For example, most tourists generally drink bottled water when on holiday, which creates mountains of plastic waste every year. If that amount of waste is not treated appropriately, most areas of countries can be littered. Furthermore, the invasion of tourists into certain places can disrupt the local wildlife and ecosystems. For instance, the inhabitants can cut down on forests to produce souvenirs, causing the loss of animals’ habitats. In conclusion, tourism has a vital role to play in the development of local communities. Despite its adverse impacts, tourism is a worthwhile sector that should be promoted in most countries.