Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the technologically driven world, the internet plays an integral part in human life. There is no denying that social sites have harmful content due to this a considerable amount of people believe that policymakers should be censoring the content as the only solution to mitigate this issue. I think that a balanced approach is more effective. First of all, Government censoring helps to eliminate extremely dangerous content such as, hate speech, child exploitation and misinformation. For example, a country like Germany has a law to stop hate speech online and make the internet a safe place for people. As a consequence, people know the limitations and boundaries of posting content. However, censoring the content has also taken the freedom of speech as it is the basic right of individuals. Although, through social sites like Instagram and Facebook people express their personalities and emotions. For Instance, in many countries, the Government censors social sites for political reasons. Hence, it is important for policymakers to focus on regulation and prevent freedom of speech. Moreover, education plays an indispensable role in terms of giving a sense of good or bad content. it is pivotal to provide general information to people, especially young ones to identify the harmful content by themselves and block them on the internet. As a result of this internet become a safe place for everyone and there is no need for special censoring. In conclusion, Although censoring by the Government will remove harmful content while looking for other ways to reduce it is an effective way to overcome this by freedom of speech and personal responsibilities make technology the safest place for humans.