In some cities, there are few controls on the design and construction of homes and other buildings, and owners can decide on the style of their houses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks?

It is often thought that the uncontrolled development of housing complexes and buildings in metropolitan areas would result in various architectural styles being used in construction. There are a lot of positive and negative aspects relating to this topic, but I believe that the benefits precede over the drawbacks. Such benefits include the feeling of satisfaction in local residents and an increased number in tourism. Firstly, independent decisions for building designs hold an important value which is the freedom of expression. People yearn for a similar opportunity to express their creativity as opposed to strictly being told what to do. This practice definitely contributes to the satisfactory aspect of living in certain cities. Local residents would feel happier because they feel involved in town planning. For instance, there are numerous studies conducted regarding how designing a public playground has greatly satisfied the surrounding community. Some people advise against it as the unique styles of the properties might make the city seem untidy and crowded. But despite the possible disadvantage, it could also attract visitors from out of town. Tourists would be interested to see a city which showcases its resident’s creation and a rising rate in tourism has a significant impact on the economy as it could increase the revenue of the area. Examples could be seen in leading countries throughout the world, like the capital city of Singapore. In conclusion, while there are a few disadvantages regarding the style selection of the city’s architecture. There is a plethora of perks that outweigh the negative sides, including the psychological value and a higher level of the city’s income.