Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which do you think is a better educational system?

In certain parts of the world, students are asked to acquire knowledge from manifold kinds of subjects in order to become well-rounded and comprehensive whereas in some other places, paying attention to certain subjects is the desire of many educational institutions. Although both of these educational paradigm has its own benefits, I personally support the view that an emphasis on a certain number of subjects is absolutely a better educational system. An educational system with a huge number of subjects is often believed to help students fully assimilate all fundamental skills and achieve students’ full potential. Learning different kinds of subjects, students are expected to have a great academic performance when graduated from high school. For instance, a student in Vietnam has to study about 13 subjects until university, which cover a wide range of thematic areas, in the hope that they will have the ability to solve different types of math tests, understand the notion of history and interpret passages in the literature book. Of course, this can be possible if the teachers have the skills to deal with all of the aspects aforementioned as well as students know how to retain their knowledge effectively. Despite the benefits expressed above, I believe that concentrating on certain subjects is a better educational system. Having an emphasis on a number of subjects can ease the burden on students and prevent them from study pressures. Moreover, it is easier for students to revise the lessons and proficiently retain the knowledge if students only have to concentrate on certain subjects. For instance, if there are too many subjects to deal with, students might be demoralized, having trouble in organizing the knowledge and managing time to review all the essential knowledge in order to perform well in exams. Additionally, spending time on particular subjects can support students in deciding their future career. They can easily find out their favourite field, their strengths and ameliorate it to end up having their dream jobs. In conclusion, I agree that educational systems which include various subjects can be a great system, but spending time on a certain number of subjects is definitely more effective in educating students.