Many museums charge for admission, while others are free. Do you think advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Various museums do not provide free of charge entry, whereas the rest is free. I believe that the disadvantages of charging people for admission outweighs the advantages. The essay will, firstly, demonstrate how free of fee system will adversely affect the maintenance of the museum and secondly, the only benefit to poor people, which is not valid. To begin with, if the museums don’t charge money for entering then they cannot afford its maintenance. There are numerous expenses like electricity bills and cleaning, which require a regular source of income. Moreover, if they stop maintaining as soon as they can’t afford, then the entire place might get ruined in a few years. For example, I went to a gallery where they did not charge for going inside, but I noticed that a few structures were not properly kept and repairing was required in several places. In addition to this, when a place allows free entry, then people tend to take it for granted. For instance, a free museum is not as important to people as a paid one. On the other hand, there is only one drawback that poor people who cannot afford the price of the ticket will remain will unaware of the valuable things in the museum. Likewise, students from these families will also not be able to visit it and this will affect their overall progress. To illustrate, scholarship students in reputed schools cannot gain knowledge and enjoy with their friends due not being able to afford the admission. To conclude, I opine that although it will be in the favour of economically backward people, but I believe that museums should not be free as this will hamper its maintenance and make it less valuable.