Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Recently, newcomer parents have not been spending enough time with their children. Therefore, they often use easier ways of parenting such as sending them to grandparents or letting them use smartphones extensively, leading to increased smartphone usage among children. In the essay, I explained both the advantages and disadvantages of this situation. In terms of benefits, smartphones offer educational opportunities and connectivity. In the digital era, educational resources are easily accessible from everywhere through the internet and smartphones. Moreover, many social media can provide the information needed. For instance, generation Z children prefer using platforms such as Tiktok over google for their searches. Another significant benefit is connectivity. The internet brings people closer together, especially new generation youth, who certainly connect with others. As a result, platforms such as social media communities and dating apps not only facilitate social interactions but also foster deeper social connections by linking people to another one with similar interests. On the other hand, smartphones come with adverse effects for some kids such as delays in social and emotional development or lack of physical activities and sleep quality. The most noticeable negative impact is social and emotional development. Smartphone usage blocks children ’s ability via non face-to-face interactions, leading to problems for developing empathy, emotional intelligence and interpersonal skills. Another negative aspect is physical health issues. While children spend time on a smartphone, it decreases physical activity and high-quality sleep time,bringing them to health issues such as obesity and cognitive problems. In conclusion, smartphones are two-edged swords that have positive and negative sides. For suggestions, I recommend that parents should spend enough time with their children.