Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people believe that zoos should be closed because animals are exploited there, while I would argue that they help in protecting the rare species and thus they are useful; however there should be a regular official inspection to keep a check on cruel behaviour. Those who are against the zoological parks might argue that every living species has the right to live freely, but animals are kept locked down in cages here. This leads to compromising their freedom and letting them suffer for their whole lives. For example, a cub who took birth in a zoo would never know about living a free life in a jungle. Moreover, due to government’s negligence, most of these places might have funding issues, and this shortage of money would adversely affect the wildlife in these locations. However, in my opinion, zoological gardens have practical importance. The reason is that there has always been a danger of illegal hunting in forests due to which many animal species are at risk of extinction. Furthermore, critically endangered fauna such as rhinos, leopards could also be captured by wildlife traffickers for the sake of money. Thus, in order to save them, these conservation areas are required where they would be protected from these sorts of activities. Besides this, they are open to the public where visitors can visit and get knowledge about these vulnerable faunas. In conclusion, although some animals suffer from cruelty in a zoo, this problem could be solved if the living conditions of these places would be regularly examined by the concerned authorities. Therefore, I opine that they are still one of the best conservation areas where wildlife could be protected from illegal hunting and trafficking.