Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express their thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is considered by most of the people that artists should be given the freedom to express views and creativity through their art and painting. Contrary to this, others opine that there should be some restrictions on artists as complete freedom may be detrimental to public. In my view, I think that artists should have an adequate amount of freedom to express their art. However, I also believe that there should be few rules and regulations so that their creativity does not deter societal growth. First of all, freedom is an essential element to promote art in any society. There is no doubt that art and culture coexist. One cannot survive without the other. An artist always utilizes the emotional quotient to create something unique. If artists are not given freedom and independence to show their creativity, then they will imagine things in only one particular dimension. As a result, this will impact the country’s culture and heritage. Take, for example; we got to know about the various battles and wars which happened in medieval times through the artist’s paintings. If artists are not given adequate right, then certainly the country’s culture and tradition will not be promoted to the next generation. Therefore, freedom is crucial in every form of art. Nevertheless, there should be a few defined laws in the artwork to maintain peace and harmony in the community. Particularly, in a pluralist community where multiple cultures and traditions exist. Artists should be careful that they are hurting the religious sentiments and emotions of other people. As an illustration, an outrage happened in the world a few years ago because one of the artists portrayed the Prophet’s picture, and this hurts the religious sentiments of Muslims. In addition to this, there are also censored images and paintings which can have a negative impact on society, especially on children. Consequently, this will be detrimental to community and economic development. Hence, the government should encourage the censor board to take proactive actions, so that no such disturbing paintings are not circulated or promoted. To conclude, I agree that freedom is the essential requirement to promote artwork and tradition. Although, there should be a few defined laws so that artists do not create disharmony and violence in society.