Some people think music plays an important role in society. Others think it is it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both sides of this argument and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that music helps in refreshing and soothing our minds. While some people believe that music is only for entertainment, I would advocate that it is a significant part of our society as it depicts our culture, and is a lucrative profession too. Those who consider melody as only an amusement source might argue that it has no practical aspect. In other words, it does not have any usage in the real world, and a person would listen to his/her favourite songs only during their free time, such as travelling. Furthermore, people prefer to hear musical numbers according to their moods and choices and not for their quality and content. For example, in parties and functions, individuals like to dance to fast-paced tunes and not light and sad numbers. On the other hand, I would argue that music has cultural importance as every society has a particular style of melodies, and reflects its religions, traditions, customs, and history. For instance, there is a specific style of Indian folk numbers, and one can find that touch in its religious prayers, festive, and folk songs. Secondly, it could be chosen as a profession if an individual is passionate about it, which could lead to success and fame as numerous artists like Ed Sheeran, and Ariana Grande are renowned rock stars in the musical world and earned millions of dollars through it. In conclusion, although euphony is an excellent way of experiencing pleasure and is not at all empirical, I believe that it has a traditional significance, and individuals can excel their career by their musical talent.