In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, books have been superseded by the Internet when it comes to knowledge storage. In my opinion, the drawbacks of this trend are greater than its benefits. On the one hand, storing knowledge on the Internet is greatly beneficial. To begin with, the Internet allows people to access knowledge from an immense number of sources. With the help of search engines like Google or Firefox, internet users can explore content on various topics with a couple of mouse clicks. Therefore, they can get access to information immediately anywhere, which is cheaper, much more convenient and time-saving compared to looking for the same amount of knowledge from printed books. In addition, knowledge on the Internet is stored in different formats, which helps learners absorb the information more effectively. Unlike books, which present information in the form of texts or images only, the Internet provides learners with knowledge in both texts and digital forms like audio or videos. Auditory learners, for example, would find learning via podcasts, which are common on many websites, more useful than reading books. On the other hand, I believe that storing knowledge on the Internet brings about more significant disadvantages. First, the reliability of information on the web is not guaranteed. Since anything can be posted on the Internet without verification, there are many unreliable sources which deliver inaccurate knowledge, making it hard for an average user to differentiate between true and false information. Moreover, digital piracy is another problem when it comes to online knowledge storage. The Internet has paved the way for the boom in copyright infringements in the last decade. Tons of websites are distributing pirated, free electronic books to increase their web traffic, which can help them earn money from running online advertisements. Such illegal distribution is difficult to control and causes the publishing industry to lose millions of dollars every year. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of storing knowledge online are outweighed by its drawbacks.