Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that adertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that advertising influences our decisions to buy products. However, many people claim that these days, we are bombarded by advertisements, thus, nobody cares about them anymore. While I understand that we see many advertisements each day and we simply ignore them most of the time, I believe many of them affect our decisions significantly. On the one hand, many people hold the opinion that because advertisements have become so common nowadays, we do not pay attention to them anymore. Each day, we see hundreds of advertisements on social media applications and on the TV about products that we do not use, so, we just ignore them. Also, in the contemporary world, many citizens have access to the Internet and they can simply search for the products that they intend to buy, they do not need to listen to advertisements. Similarly, many people do not believe in advertisement's claims anymore. For instance, it happened to me many times that I ordered the product that I watched in advertisements, however, it was not of good quality, so I decided not to pay attention to these types of ads. On the other hand, it is perceived by some that advertising has the potential to persuade people to buy stuff. I firmly agree with this notion for some reasons. Firstly, each year, companies allocate a huge portion of their budget for researchers to find new tricks to advertise their products for the purpose of increasing the impact of their advertisements, thus, it is not so common for many individuals. Secondly, many people are still persuaded by advertising. For instance, there are a lot of scammers in social media applications selling how-to-get-rich packages. They often succeed. Lastly, according to the research, when people go shopping, they prefer to buy familiar items, items they have heard about, not random ones. In conclusion, people hold different opinions about whether or not advertisements have an impact on citizens. I totally agree that advertising can persuade people to buy their products.