The prison system has not been effective at reforming criminals. A large number of convicted felons return to committing crimes soon after being released. What are the problems with the prison system and what solution can you recommend to address this issue?

The mechanism of putting the people in jails for their crimes, has not done anything when it comes to transforming them into good human beings. Firstly, this essay will explain the downsides of the prison system, and secondly, it will describe the solution. To embark upon, in many developing countries the prisoners are dealt in a horrible way by the prison staff. They are usually given the worst quality of food, and are treated badly, which involves the worst kind of behaviour, which in turn make these prisoners hate the society even more. In addition, the prisoners are being put in isolation in the cells with no one to talk to them. Staying in a dark room, with no one around to talk, ultimately results in more negative thoughts to come to a person's mind. For example, it has been observed that staying alone for a longer period could psychologically affect humans. However, there are many possible ways of rectifying the above issues. The prisoners should be educated during their jail terms, and they should be given activities that change the way they think. Many crimes in the world are done by those who never have gone to the school in their life, so teaching them with moral ethics would bring a change. Furthermore, the root cause of the crime should be investigated for each prisoner. Every prisoner should be treated according to the crime he has done. For instance, the person who has looted a bank, could have been in financial strains since long time, therefore the Government should support him in getting an employment after he serves his jail term. To conclude, a bad social treatment and isolation, usually do not change prisoners. Whereas, educating them, and solving their life problem could do wonders in their lives.