In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

When it comes to different methods of motivating youngsters, there are pieces of advice that imagined to be effective in encouraging children. One of these is that should they try as best as they can, they are able to gain everything they have planned for. Such messages have both positive and negative consequences for teenagers. On the one hand, encouraging the younger generation to try hard would result in their success in most cases. In other words, one of the most crucial factors for being prosperous is hardworking and consistency in reaching the goals. Children tend to be mesmerized by celebrities' glamorous lives, without knowing that these public figures have tried hard enough to become successful. Moreover, by showing them the path to reach success, they will utilize the same method. An example of these motivators' effects is autobiography books by brilliant people such as Bill Gates and Steve Jobs, which tell stories of their efforts to gain their aims. On the other hand, youngsters are being bombarded every day by these types of messages. The high number of these, apparently motivators, erodes the influence of them. As a recent research showed, when a message excessively is sent to our brain, our nervous system will adapt itself to ignore it. When teachers, parents, books, and media all talk about similar slogans every moment, the younger generation will get bored and become reluctant to them. In addition, there were cases in which individuals tried as hard as possible without reaching their goals. Thus, these sporadic cases become more attractive to children, compared to those numerous pieces of advice. In conclusion, there are both positive and negative points in encouraging children to be successful with messages, such as "no pain, no gain. Although these messages are losing their impacts due to excessive use by parents and teachers, by choosing the right moment and for the right purpose, they can still motivate the younger generation to reach their goals.