Some people say that history can teach us many important values and lessons, but others think it is unnecessary to learn from the past. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

There are divergent views on whether history is of great significance or not for the individual’s life. While some argue that history play a crucial role in our lives, some are of the opinion that we might not acquire anything from history. I am inclined to agree with the former view. On the one hand, proponents of the latter view may argue that it is unnecessary to learn about history. Some people might assume it too theoretical to bear in mind all the sequence of historical events that already happen in the past, such as years or the name of many historical figures. For example, numerous students in primary to high school might think that it really tough to pass the historical tests. The national high school graduation examination in Vietnam, 70% of the history test scores below 5, the average score is 4.3 which was the lowest among 9 subjects. Another justification for this is sometimes historical events that have been re-published over the years are not always accurate, so it could provide misleading knowledge for learners. On the other hand, I contend that history could do wonders for humankind. One evident merit of this is that it would give us insight into the history of our nation, about the war, how the previous generation develop the country and the evolution and innovation of humanity. That could provide us a profound understanding of how human society changing over the years. Moreover, by learning history, it could bring us a sense of awareness and patriotism for our country. In other words, we will know how our forefathers had to struggle a lot to safeguard the country against invaders and from that the youths should have more conscious of the hardship of our ancestor which bring them freedom like today. To sum up, although there are many certain arguments for the latter view, I am convinced that the former is more beneficial.