Some people think that in the modern world we are more dependent on each other, while others think that people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions on whether we are more or less dependent on each other nowadays. In my view, modern life forces us to be more independent than people were in the past. There are two main reasons why it could be argued that we are more dependent on each other today. Firstly, life is more complex and difficult, especially the cost of living has increased so dramatically. For example, young adults tend to rely on their parents for help when buying a house. Property prices are higher than ever, without help, it would be impossible for many people to pay deposits and mortgages. Secondly, people seem to be more ambitious, and they want a better quality of life for their families today. This means that both parents need to work full-time, and they depend on support from parents and babysitters for child care. However, I would agree with those who believe that people are more independent these days. In most countries, families are becoming smaller and more dispersed, which means that people couldn't count, on relatives as much as they used to. We also have more freedom to travel and live far from our hometowns. For example, many students choose to study abroad instead of going to their local university, and this experience makes them more independent when they learn to live alone. Another factor in the growing independence is technology, which allows us to work alone and from any part of the world. In conclusion, while there are some reasons to believe that people now depend on each other more, my own view is that we are more independent than ever.