In developing countries, Some people believe that their government should introduce new technology to people in order to improve their quality of life. Others believe that offering free education would be more advantageous in the long term. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Gone are the days, when geographical boundaries delineated the developing countries. In the last few decades, many underdeveloped nations have adopted the latest tech tools to improve the living standard of their citizens. However, I am of the opinion that the availability of a free education system, rather than tech-enabled amenities, is of prime importance. Free-schooling will contribute more in helping these growing economies to join the ranks of developed parts of the globe. Governments often choose to pick the quickest possible development route - by providing their citizens with the latest tech facilities. For example, countries like Venezuela and Brazil, imported technology to build not only an advanced metro rail system, but also multi-lane highways coupled with high-tech traffic control systems. While these facilities gave the appearance of a well-established country, in contrast, it proved to be only a short-term solution. Since the population was not empowered by learning, many people ended up flouting rules. As a result, all the advanced facilities were rendered useless. On the other hand, ensuring complimentary learning facilities, across all age-groups, plays a pivotal role in the organic development of a nation. Besides, the educated and well-read students, and citizens become more aware of the advancements in the other parts of the world. For this reason, they not only appreciate the importance of intellectual knowledge, but also, by imbibing technology, actively participate in raising the living standard of the society. To illustrate further, citizens from countries like the Philippines and Vietnam, have risen to be recognized in the global forum, as talented workforce. In particular, this recognition was mostly a consequence of the free school system provided to them. To conclude, I concur with the view that free education plays a significant role in not just the growth, but also the lifestyle of a developing country. Therefore, it is imperative that governments in these parts of the world spend their budget wisely, to develop human capital rather than give it away just for tech-powered public amenities.