In the present day, many students are keen to learn more than the main subjects can provide, while some believe that it is essential for students to focus solely on studying for a qualification. In this essay, the advantages of both notions will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached.

In the present day, many students are keen to learn more than the main subjects can provide, while some believe that it is essential for students to focus solely on studying for a qualification. In this essay, the advantages of both notions will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached. On the one hand, There are several benefits that main subjects in university can offer. Career opportunities are the main key, as most companies always use a qualification degree from university. For example, achieving a high grade from university in the main subject could be a guarantee for a higher-paying career. Attention only to the main subjects helps learners to stay in focus, resulting in better scores and understanding of the context deeply without attraction from other interests. Additionally, the main subjects could be more helpful for further study in a doctoral degree in the future, because it is a simple standard that society requires and put them in curriculum. On the other hand, giving all students time in the main subjects had some negative effects. by reducing time for exploring self-desire in a career. For instance, some individuals experience a struggle in choosing an occupation even if they have a high degree qualification, causing a false career pathway that some feel dissatisfied with in the future. Learning outside main subjects provides survival skills in society that university could not, such as culinary skills, repairing machines and vehicles, especially communication skills, which is a useful essential skill in every moment of working life. Moreover, students tend to enjoy lessons that they choose by themself, decreasing stress in the learning process. In summary, Focusing on the main subjects in university offers many advantages including easier getting high scores in class without attraction, career opportunities and the basis for further education. In contrast, many students gain advantages from learning outside the university or more than main subjects such as acknowledgement of self-desire occupation and communication skills. I firmly agree that the benefits of studying outside main subjects far outweigh solely focusing on the main subjects.