Museums and art galleries should focus on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of other parts of the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that museums should display artworks from the country where they locate rather than that of other places globally. I agree that museums are a valuable educational tool to learn about one’s own nation. However, museums should aspire to broaden people’s perspectives instead of narrowing it. To start with, museums showcasing works from the country would connect people with regional culture and history. For example, children learn about history from textbooks, talking about the constitution, the founder, and the various wars of liberation. If children go to museums to see the actual historical documents, they would have memorable impressions. Seeing a famous work of historical document would make them notice details being not in books and feel a more personal connection to their region. In my opinion, it is more important for people to gain a broader view of cultures around the world. Most people cannot afford to travel abroad. If they do, they could not experience another culture deeply as a tourist. Therefore, people can go to museums are a great opportunity to gain a deep understanding and insight into worldwide cultures. Someone visiting the British Museum in London would see artefacts from every continent in the world without a plane ticket like Egyptian sculptures, Asian antique, and also well-known paintings of European artists. Additionally, it would attract more tourists, generating motivation for museums to set up contexts and improve the quality better. In conclusion, museums would show various artworks from their own country as well as other countries. Personally, people should take in the culture of not only their motherland, but also the whole world, leading to positive cultural globalization.