News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Discuss. (Cambridge IELTS 1).

It is an undeniable fact that, news articles are first filtered by editors before it’s aired or broadcasted. In addition, news headlines mould into shape so they attract their potential customers or buyers. In my opinion, Deskman should be unbiased in their judgement and should not paramount importance to negative newsflash. To begin with, terrible bulletins have potential to attract a large number of audiences compared to positive newscast. Consequently, reports are manipulated so that they became the talk of the town for a long time by swelling gossips and rumours. Additionally, the majority of news channels are possessed by private organizations. Hence, their ultimate goal is to earn monetary benefits which will only be possible by alluring many individuals. Moreover, a number of press releases are overwhelmingly influenced by political pressures and sponsors. As a result, they need money to propel their business which can be earned by promoting content of patrons. For instance, several newspapers and news channels are reporting how the number of Coronavirus cases is dramatically increasing. In contrast, they will not show punitive measures taken by different countries or even technological advances being made to find a vaccine. Lastly, it is important that there should be a considerable balance between both reporting. Because, good news can help us achieve positive mood, attitude and happiness. For example, if the media airs award nomination and educational activities, it will surely help children in their formative years. On the other hand, if pupil will hear about robberies and rapes, it will gradually affect his psychological health. To recapitulate, for both print and electronic media what matters most to them is circulation of news. However, to earn more TRP’s they should not telecast only negative news. Similarly, they should also live-stream positive news to spread more positivity for the well-being of society.