In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this .

In many countries young people are often encouraged to take a year off, to work or travel for a period between finishing high school and starting academic studies. This recent trend, also known as “ gap year ” which has its own advantages and disadvantages. The great advantage of having a gap year is that students have the opportunity to discover their favourite career. They often spend time developing their life skills and academic qualifications, and pursuing their hobbies and interest. As a result, students can not only gain experience at works, but also improve the ability to live and work independently, which makes students hugely impress future employers. Thanks to this off-period, students can easily find out the suitable jobs which go with their interest as well as personalities. For instance, data from the American Gap Association, 2015, pointed out that 94% of students who choose to take a gap year said they had many useful skills to make them better prepared for university and future jobs. In addition to this, taking a year off to work helps students in earning money. Working for a period, students often save a sum of money by themselves; therefore they can live independently and reduce the financial burden of higher education. In contrast to a major plus point, students may face some obstacles if they decide to take a year to break between high school graduation and university courses. The serious disadvantage is that they risk losing their academic momentum. After taking a year off, many students might not be used to studying in the formal education and have difficulty returning into feeling motivated, which makes it harder for them to control their studies at university. The other drawback of having a gap year is that some students feel like falling behind from their peers. They might be under control when their friends are moving towards at university, which makes them in panic or disorientation. To conclude, taking a gap year has its own good points and bad points. The break of a year taken before studying university helps students to discover their career interest and also have financial preparation for their studies or works. However, for some students it can lead to a lack of confidence and motivation.