Nowadays, distance-learning programs are such common thing for us (the study material by post, by internet) but some people argue that courses can never be taken as good as those by attending in a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The education system today is increasingly dominated by distance-learning programs where students can approach courses and materials online. As a result, some people oppose this concept, arguing that attending class face-to-face in college or university is the better way to learn. I strongly disagree with this the view that online courses is not beneficial. First and foremost, the vast majority of universities or colleges not evenly distributed across regions and are often located only in metropolitan or capital cities. Meanwhile, almost 70% of high school graduates come from rural areas and have limited funds to migrate to urban centres. A student in rural Indonesia, for instance, may have to travel hundreds kilometers to attend a university, causing significant costs for transportation and housing. Therefore, distance-learning programs enable such students to pursue their education from home, eliminating the need for living while still providing access to quality courses and resources. Furthermore, the conservative method of studying has limited hours, typically held from morning until five o’clock. This system may prevent certain individuals from attending classes, such as workers pursuing further education or people with nocturnal tendencies who are more productive at night. This means that online courses could be more effective and suitable for such individuals. In conclusion, attending directly to college or university in person is not the best way to gain knowledge. The limited availability of advanced education facilities, which impacts students’ ambitions and does not support specific society conditions for continuing their education. Distance learning provides an alternative for people from all walks of life to achieve their dreams, offering results comparable to traditional systems.