some universities now offer their courses on the internet so that people can study online . Is this a positive or a negative development ?

Online education has opened new avenues for both the students and the universities. Higher internet speed and better connectivity, has increased the popularity and acceptability of online courses across the world. This essay would give reasons why this is a positive development in the field of education. Firstly, the online learning has opened new horizons for the students. It has not only given the ease of accessibility to big universities, but has also opened doors for better job opportunities. Perfect example of this would be, students in India can now enrol in the best of international universities, such as Cambridge or Havard, and get an online degree which is acceptable by the employers in India. The dream of students to study from international universities and be taught by the best of teachers have been made possible through online courses. Secondly, from the perspective of the universities, the introduction of online courses has resulted in higher reach as far as the enrolment of students is concerned. For example, not long ago the universities could only offer limited courses and had limited seating, owing to the space constraint. The physical structure of the university has for long been a deterrent for universities, in offering wide range of courses and in enrolling a higher number of students. Online education has broken that barrier. To conclude, the internet is responsible for the popularity of the online courses, and the introduction of online courses has helped both the universities and the students. This is indeed a step in the right direction.