Write about the following topic: Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The number of crime commitments has been proliferated in many cities all over the world. I can identify two main reasons and their possible solutions, which we will describe now. Perhaps, the main reason is unemployment, which can make youngsters unable to afford their lives. In other words, those who do not have a proper and specific source of income may commit crimes to satisfy their financial needs. A person's need to provide food for her children may contribute to theft or shoplifting. Another factor that is worth mentioning is the lack of access to quality education, which can raise awareness among the younger generation and prevent them from committing criminal deeds. In schools, for example, children should be taught that academic underperformance might lead to weak career progression in later life; consequently, committing crimes, which has harmful consequences, might be their only option to survive. Turning to possible solutions, educating pupils about the negative drawbacks of perpetrating a crime probably has a positive impact on preventing a considerable percentage of children from breaking the law. In Japan, for instance, schoolchildren are taught to recognize all possible crimes and all their potential sentences. The other potential solution will be more intensified punishments for some offenders. It means that governments consider some fierce sentences for offenders. Therefore, not only youngsters but also every single citizen will be afraid of the fierce penalty, including long imprisonment, heavy fines, etc., waiting for them. In conclusion, the reasons for the increased number of youth crimes might be socioeconomic or educational factors; however, educating people and hardening punishments can contribute to decreasing the number of offences.