Prison is the best punishment for criminals. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It cannot be denied that, criminals need to be punished for the crime they commit. There are a few who believe that prison is the best punishment for them while others argue with it. I completely disagree with the opinion of the prior and am of the view that the punishment should be in accordance with the nature of wrongdoing. In recent years, it has been observed that crime rates have continued to increase than in the past. Furthermore, locking up all the criminals in the penitentiary, will eventually exhaust the limited prison resources. In addition to that, over-crowding of prisoners can cause a potential threat to the establishment. For instance, research done by the psychology department of California states that people confined to limited spaces tend to act more violently than others. As a result, varied punishments should be given to the criminals based on the nature and severity of the violation. People will lose faith in the judicial system and the laws will prove redundant if prison was the only best punishment for all the criminals. However, imprisoning an offender for a severe crime like a murder is also unjust. Such criminals should be hanged to death. Moreover, petty criminals should be fined heavily instead of confining them to prisons. For example, sending juveniles to detention centres over prisons for better rehabilitation is more appropriate. In conclusion, I disagree that prison is the ultimate punishment and believe that punishments should vary and the guilty should be punished based on the nature of the crime.